airing some dirty laundry…

Real quick before I start this post… I’m endeavoring to post 5 times a week, well at least here at the beginning of this adventure so I can introduce you to my crazy new life & the people that help me survive it…

One of the things that I have to learn to live in Kenya is how to properly do laundry – by hand. In the past the closest I’ve come is washing out someunmentionables (but did I just mention them?) in the sink while I was traveling. Here, there is NO washing machine, except for the two that God gave me on the end of my arms.So today Irene, Ruth, & Mercy offered to teach me. As I said, I’ve never really done anything like this before so I decided to start small with only a few things & nothing big. Suffice it to say there was much laughter at my expense. Though they promised that I would be an expert by the time I leave.

And, I even took a few pictures & I’m willing to share them with you. Why? Because I dare any of you machine owners to get outside & do this… Perhaps I’ve reached a new level of domestic diva-ness. Just wait ’til its time to do sheets & towels…
This is the laundry area… those are my clothes in the smaller blue tub
Here I am filling the laundry tub w/ water…

Now I move the tub over to the concrete so I can wash & not make a larger mess by making mud…

Finally, its all done & hung on the line… should be dry in just a few hours thanks to the abundant sunshine here…

One response to “airing some dirty laundry…

What are your thoughts?

