Being grateful

Its raining again, I could complain about the mud, cold and inconvenience caused by the rain, but I won’t.  Instead I will be grateful and pray that it rains in areas other than Nairobi so that there will be abundant food crops and water to drink.

I’ve lost weight.  Instead of complaining about the fact that my clothes are too big, or that I have to deal with the hassle of taking them to the tailor to be reduced, I will appreciate the fact that I can afford to do it, and that I have clothes.

water bottle sandals

photo courtesy of Facebook

Take a look at social media and you’ll find many people counting down the days, or using the alphabet to share what they are thankful for.  Here in Kenya, there are reminders each and every time I walk out of my door. God’s grace and mercy have placed me where I can feast in the midst of famine, water in the wasteland, plenty amongst poverty.

Yes, we Americans take one day in November to remember to give thanks for the abundant blessings in our lives and this is good.  Yet in the midst of the feast on your table remember not everyone can enjoy what you do.  The news is reporting stories of people in New England still without power because of the early snow, one lady even saying she felt “abandoned.”  I’ll admit I didn’t have a lot of sympathy for her, in fact my reaction was to comment “Stop being selfish & make your life about others.”

Those that are in lack are not just here in Kenya or Africa.  A friend posted a blog about comparing the lines for a homeless shelter vs. a gourmet donut shop.  So this November and the coming holiday season can I encourage you to make your life about others?  You can give your cash – that’s sometimes easier, but I encourage you to give of your time and talent too.  Because just maybe, those that seem to have nothing will give something back to you.

7 responses to “Being grateful

  1. Thanks Kerri. It is so true. And I really enjoyed the post of your friend. It is also so true. And it makes me be thankful that I know Jesus and that He loves me and that my life is in His hands!
    Looking forward to see you again!

    Love Hanneke Develing

  2. Thanks for this post. I know it’s now quite old, but obviously it’s still relevant. I ran across this image today and thought I’d mention the project I’m involved with called The Shoe That Grows. We’re a non-profit working on building a shoe for developing worlds that can expand for children and last several years. You can see the project here if you’re interested: http://www.BecauseInternational.org Hopefully this project will help even just a little bit those who have disadvantages like in the picture above. Blessings to you.

What are your thoughts?

