Story Telling

live remarkably

The last few months I’ve been learning about ‘story’ as a concept in life.  We all have a story to tell, we are individual stories being told, and we are each characters in a collective tale that we will only understand in the light of eternity and our eyes are opened to how our roles made a difference to the outcome of ultimate story.

Each day is a blank page before us.  We cannot edit yesterday’s paragraphs, we only have the merest semblance of control over today’s chapter with our choices and influence tomorrow’s.  Our choices, from the major to the mundane all affect our story, will it be dry and tasteless, or will it be challenging and interesting to the reader?

I know I personally prefer stories that keep me on the edge of my seat, impatiently turning each page as I anticipate what will happen to the character and involve myself in the narrative.  As I finish a book, I enjoy the feeling of missing the characters because I’ve allowed myself to be influenced by them, to experience their joys and sorrows, heartaches and hallelujahs.

story worth telling

As God is writing our story, because of the free will He has given us, we are presented with choices. We can choose to stay safe in our familiar settings and locations where things are predictable and known, or we can choose to have faith, trusting He will be there when we step out into what some may label as risky behavior.  Personally, I want to be able to have enough faith to choose the other path.  I cannot predict how it will turn out, I may succeed spectacularly or fail epically – either way, its a more compelling story.

“You yourselves are our letter, written on our hearts, known and read by everyone… not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts.”  2 Corinthians 3:2-3 As soon as you step out of your door each day, your life is being read by everyone around you – what are you doing to make sure its one worth reading?Dr. Seuss Lorax quote

2 responses to “Story Telling

  1. Pingback: The landscape has changed | Pondering & Musing

  2. Pingback: Jail break! | Pondering & Musing

What are your thoughts?

