New Year… New life

I’ve been silent dear readers.  Why? I’ve been finding my new life.  Truly.  I moved back to North America from Africa in October.  Spent a month in Toronto with family helping with my late grandmother’s estate, then moved into Mom & Dad’s in November to contemplate what my life would look like since the big change in August.  Well, the waiting is over – here are some details of my new life…

Image

My sunny spot

New Home – a sweet and cozy little one bedroom apartment in a sleepy South-Central Massachusetts hamlet.  I’m trying to find where everything belongs and in the mean-time I’m living with the boxes…

New Job – I’m refocusing my organizational passions in the medium of radio.  I’m the Office Manager for The Q 90.1 FM.  We went on the air in early December 2012, and I came on board in mid-January.  I’m excited about the possibilities of sharing a message of hope in this region.  I still get to use all my knowledge of social media, organization, and meeting and sharing life with people.

New Life – so with a new home and a new job, is this really a new life?  Not exactly.  You see, with all the things that have changed me over the last couple of years, it is now the intention to have a renewed focus on being true to my God-given identity.  What is that?  As I put on my instagram bio “Girl. Jesus-follower. Wanna-be world changer”

You see, we are created by God with a destiny.  Not only that, but we are given the passion to pursue His purpose for us if we will be honest with ourselves and connect with our Creator.  If I’ve learned anything from the grief process, it’s that in the end, it’s not the things (new home) or paycheck (new job) which give merit to our lives, for in reality our physical selves will decay and become dust.

What truly matters is the impact we make on people.  The lives that have influenced us, the hearts we have loved, the souls that we touch as each of us passionately pursue our divine purpose

3 responses to “New Year… New life

  1. I wish you many blessings and the best of luck as you navigate this chapter of your story Kerri. I love your perspective about how “things” don’t give our life merit. It reminds me of this post I read yesterday on another friend’s blog–those things give us a false sense of freedom, yet it is when we turn to our God and cling to him that we find freedom to move forward and flourish. Thanks for sharing… and your apartment looks super cute and cozy! http://katiecampbellphoto.com/blog/2013/01/false-freedom/

  2. love you kerri-poo and i might’ve already told you this but when all your drama went down, as sad as i knew it was for you, i was happy for me…because i’d get to enjoy you like all the fairytales i had heard about you when i moved up here. so welcome to my life and welcome back to your adjusted sphere of influence! xoxo

What are your thoughts?

